Something blue…

I have an addiction to antique shops and thrift stores. I love the hunt of searching for something that needs a new home and sometimes a new look.

On Tuesday, my little munchkin was extremely fussy and I was very tired. In hopes to make the day a little brighter, we took a little trip to my favorite thrift store in town. Normally, I look for milk glass first but I had to skip that section because of little hands grabbing at anything she could reach. That is when this $10 beauty grabbed ahold of my heart…

IMG_0011-0.JPG

I have been working on changing up a few things in our dining room / living room. Recently, I found this fabric and decided I will make throw pillows with it. I haven’t yet because I started sanding and painting our kitchen table. The fabric gave me the idea to paint our table a creamy white and the chairs blue. The table is finally finished and now I am sanding the chairs. Take a look at the fabric and paint colors:

IMG_0015.JPG

As soon as I saw this mirror I knew I would be giving it a new look and it would match the table some how. I could hardly wait! I put off working on the chairs and got to work on the mirror.

First, I spent the night sanding it. My sweet husband even joined me and helped me get it done faster. I heard talk of getting me an electric sander… I will have to hold him to it.

IMG_0012-0.JPG

On Wednesday, I started priming it. Thankfully, I saw a tip on Pinterest about putting card stock in the mirror instead of taking the time to tape it. You can read about it here. I didn’t have card stock so I folded some paper and taped it to the mirror. It worked!

IMG_0013-0.JPG

I wanted to paint it white. I LOVE color but for some reason I am in a creamy white rut in my living room. New picture frame? Creamy white, please. Kitchen table? Creamy white… Ballerina white to be exact. After much debate and finally coming to the realization that there is WAY to much white in my dining room/living room, I decided to paint the mirror sailboat blue. After painting and distressing, I gave it a coat of polyurethane. When it was completely dry, I searched out the perfect spot to hang it in my living room.

IMG_0017.JPG

IMG_0018.JPG

Don’t you love it?! I can hardly wait to finish the kitchen chairs and pillows and be able to see it all together!

Stay tuned for an update on our kitchen table…

I spent:

Mirror – $10
Behr Paint sample – $3

Standard

Leave a Reply

